An Invitation to Soar

20140418-004519.jpg

SOAR: to fly high in the air; to increase rapidly above the usual level

What if you could soar above the issues in your life? What if you could soar beyond the day-to-day problems? What if you could even soar above your past and the deep things you never thought you could get over? This is me telling you that you can. It takes time-it’s a process. It isn’t always pretty-it’s like surgery. But it’s possible. And it’s worth it.

You may have noticed some common themes in my posts: love, being fearless, being secure in who we are, peace, joy, community, chasing your dreams, believing in people’s dreams, trusting God, not being alone, etc.
The reason for this is that the things I have struggled with the most in my life include fear, insecurity, anxiety, depression, loneliness, feeling like no one believed in me, self-hatred, anger, rejection, distrust, etc.

I once allowed my thoughts to run rampant. I would feel freedom from something one moment, only to find myself bound and struggling even more the next. I dealt with some very serious depression for about 12 years of my life. I wrestled with anger for years-I even took to using a friend’s numb arm as a punching bag in high school (he’d had a martial arts accident that resulted in nerve damage to his arm). Bless his heart, I once punched him so hard that his arm not only felt it, but it actually hurt.

I was told for years that I was stupid and would never amount to anything-and I believed it. I was told my dreams were foolish and wasteful-and although I kept on, I believed it. I was bullied and had friends turn their backs on me. The list goes on.

Don’t get me wrong, my life wasn’t all doom, gloom and storm clouds-rainbows and unicorns were plentiful at different points as well! But rainbows fade and unicorns gallop away. They couldn’t help me deal with my mind, the wounds I had received or the lies I had believed. I needed God. God, Who is faithful, immovable, constant. God, Who loves me no matter what. God, Who says I was beautifully and wonderfully made-because He made me. God, Who intentionally designed everything about me. God, Whose plans for my life have thus far blown my mind. God, Who is so gentle, patient, kind and loving. God, Who will never leave me. God, Who will be my strength when I have none. God, Whose very presence cancels out everything else. I needed God. And as I sought God, I realized that I could not allow my mind to run rampant.

I have the tendency to be a “deep thinker”. I would always joke that it got me into trouble. “I can’t be left alone with my thoughts for too long-my mind is a dangerous place!” Truer words have rarely been uttered. I can’t be left alone with my thoughts. Not because I’m crazy-which may be debatable-but because I’m human. Thankfully, God knew that would be something that I would need help with. I realized there was a reason I was supposed to take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ. There was a reason I was to pray without ceasing. There was a reason God even broke down exactly what I was supposed to meditate on and be thinking about. But I had to decide to get over myself-to stop being so focused on Michelle: how Michelle felt, what Michelle thought and what Michelle wanted. I had to decide to focus on God. To pray and talk to Him, more than I thought and talked to myself.

For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ (2 Cor. 10:4-5)

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thess. 5:16-18)

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you. (Phil. 4:6-9)

What has your experience been with taking your thoughts captive? Is there a specific thing in your life I can be praying for? Drop me a line in the comments or via the Connect page!

Lots of Love,

Michelle

Comments
2 Responses to “An Invitation to Soar”
  1. Anemone says:

    I love you Michelle. This article is absolutely amazing. I wish I could be as brave as you. I’m definitely struggling with this exact issue. You truly are a blessing on the world 🙂

    • Awe, I love you too, Nem! I’m not brave on my own-it’s all by the grace of God. And He wants you to know and live in that same grace and freedom. Keep pursuing God, put Him first, find your value in Him, don’t compromise for momentary pleasure, peace or joy. Lasting peace, unending joy and supernatural strength are only found in the arms of our Heavenly Father. I believe in you! Let’s get coffee or something soon! ❤️

Leave a Reply

