Falling Off the Tightrope of Life

20140204-130342.jpg

Hey y’all! Happy Tuesday, I hope you are all having a wonderful week so far!

I love my city. A lot. And for so many reasons:

The people (old, young, native to Los Angeles, transplanted from all over the world, every race, language and occupation).
The history (of revival, film, music and so much more).
The diversity (of people, culture, locations/neighborhoods, food, activities, music, entertainment, etc.).
The big city feel.
The way different neighborhoods can feel smaller and more intimate.
The hiking spots (one of my favorite places here is Griffith Park and the Observatory).
The access to so many beautiful beaches.
The hopes and dreams that are brought to or grown in the city.
The hopes and dreams that come to fruition in this city.
The creativity that is so welcome and accepted here.

The older I get, the more I have noticed something that I find rather disconcerting: Sometimes, life feels like you’re walking on a tightrope. This is especially true in Los Angeles, where I’ve been told “everyone has an agenda”. It’s all about how you look, how you carry yourself, what you’re capable of, who you know, and how well you can walk the tightrope of L.A.. Can you schmooze the right people, play the right game and stick to your script?

I am far from perfect. I can’t always perfectly balance on the tightrope of expectations and life that I often hold myself to, and I know I’m not alone. I also refuse to coyly hide, twisting and contorting myself into an insincere work of art. I am going to be myself.

I’ve been told that my sleeve is a dangerous place to wear my heart, but I’ve decided to wear it there anyway.(Click to Tweet)

I don’t have an agenda when it comes to the people in my life, unless loving them is considered an agenda. That’s God’s only agenda as well. He just wants to love you, and for you to know He loves you. With God, there is no tightrope. When we have difficulty with something, He loves us anyway! When we fail, He doesn’tLife with God isn’t a balancing act to prove you can walk the line. (Click to Tweet) You can’t walk the line, and neither can I…not alone anyway.

Take your imperfections, worries, complaints and anxiety to God, and He will give you all that you need. 100% of the time, I have found that all I need is more of Him.

And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (II Corinthians 12:9, 10 NKJV)

Lots of Love,

Michelle

Leave a Reply

