An Apology to Those Who Have Been Hurt by “Christians”

20140124-170601.jpg

This “Open Letter” format seems to be a bit of a thing right now, and I have read several that I have sincerely liked.  Today, I was going to post either an update about Fearless LA or a few people’s answers to the question, “What would you do if you had no fear?”. Then I asked myself what I would do today if I had no fear. This letter is my answer.

Today, if I had no fear, I would make a public and general apology on behalf of “Christians”.

Dear One,

You are so loved. As someone who loves and follows Christ, which by definition makes me a Christian, I want to apologize on behalf of any person who has misrepresented the love of God in your life.

To the gentleman I heard doing a comedy routine last night, who was raised in a pentecostal Christian church and then was rejected, ostracized and hurt when he didn’t fit in, or his imperfections made those around him uncomfortable, so that his experiences in church have now become a joke: I am so sorry. I am sorry you weren’t shown love and mercy. I am sorry grace and compassion were not revealed to you. I am so sorry you weren’t told how loved and special you are to God. I am sorry you were told that your shortcomings were in some way worse than those of every other member of the church.

To the many precious people who have entered into a church thinking they finally found the place they belong, only to discover that they have become a topic of judgment or gossip: I am so sorry. I am sorry that we failed to love you in the way you needed to be loved. I am sorry we focused so much on our own hurts, insecurities and pride that we failed to see the “10” in you (as John Maxwell would say). I’m sorry we held you to standards we can’t even reach on our own. I’m sorry we judged you when you failed to meet those standards. I’m sorry we forgot to look at your heart, to hear your heart and to love you unconditionally.

We “Christians” are not perfect. We don’t have it all together. We’re still learning how to love ourselves and others like God loves us. We’re still wrapping our minds around the magnitude of God’s love. Forgive us, and know that God really is Love.

Beloved, let us love one another, for love is of God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. He who does not love does not know God, for God is love.
In this the love of God was manifested toward us, that God has sent His only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through Him. In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.
There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love. We love Him because He first loved us. (I John 4:7-11, 18, 19 NKJV)

Lots of Love,

Michelle

PS: If you would like an update on Fearless LA, follow the blog! If you would like to join us this Sunday, we are meeting at Mack Sennett Studios in Silverlake at 3pm and 5pm. The address is: 1215 Bates Ave. Los Angeles, CA.

PPS: The views and opinions expressed in my blog are strictly my own.

Leave a Reply

