Laundry Day

 

Hey y’all!

Hope everyone had a marvelous Christmas and holiday season! I am so looking forward to 2014, and hope that you are as well. My church is currently doing a countdown to Sunday, January 5th when we will be launching a second service. The theme of the countdown is how we will live fearlessly in 2014, and if you would like to see what people are saying you can look up the hashtag “#livefearless2014” on Instagram. That said, the following is an expanded version of what I shared today.

20131231-133109.jpg

 

Yesterday, I did laundry. And so did a bunch of other people in my apartment building. Which meant that I did laundry. And I waited…a lot. When I first started doing my laundry, it was bright and warm outside. I found it humorous that I was wearing short sleeves and sunglasses to do laundry in December (pardon the selfie, but it’s proof for my friends in places that are actually experiencing winter right now). By the time I had finished my laundry, it was dark and cold. Yesterday was apparently laundry day for more people than just me, and for a minute that honestly frustrated me.

I had not planned on my laundry taking so long to do. If you live in an apartment complex with shared laundry facilities, you may be able to relate…

How inconvenient that everyone chose to do their laundry Monday afternoon and evening. Did I miss the “laundry day” memo?
If we had more washers and dryers it wouldn’t be as big of an issue. Why do we only have two sets of washers and dryers for our two buildings to share?
Why did everyone have to decide to do laundry at the same time?

It would have been easy to entertain those thoughts in my head. To allow frustration at my inconvenience to overshadow my afternoon. To complain about how long it took to do four simple loads of laundry. But I stopped myself quickly as I realized how unproductive and negative my thoughts were in that moment.

How often do we allow the little things to have power over our minds and attitudes though? How often do we allow our thoughts to run free, entertaining thoughts that do not line up with Philippians 4:8 (which tells us to focus on things that are true, noble, just, pure, lovely, of good report, virtuous and praiseworthy)?

For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ, (II Corinthians 10:4, 5 NKJV)

Through Christ, we have the power to take every though captive. In 2014, I will not allow negative thoughts to dictate my heart attitude, nor will I entertain any unhelpful or selfish complaints. Instead I will actively submit my every thought to the authority of Jesus, and focus my attention on the things that are worthy of it. Join me and let’s have a great year, full of encouragement and keeping the things found in Philippians 4:8 at the forefront of our minds! Not engaging in negativity takes courage and trust, as it often means saying, “yes, this happened, but my God is bigger”. #livefearless2014

In 5 days, #fearlessla will be launching a second service! We will be meeting at 3pm and 5pm at #mackennettstudios in Silverlake. Hope to see you there!!!

Lots of Love,

Michelle

PS: Because other people were doing laundry, I ended up getting to catch up with one of my neighbors. Which was actually really neat.

Leave a Reply

