Be YOU

You were made to be you. Not your neighbor, not your best friend, not your pastor, not the celebrity that you look up to, but YOU! You are going to speak a certain way, act a certain way, write a certain way, like certain things, dislike other things…and that is okay!

If you are songwriter, you may write songs in a different way from other people. If you are a writer, you may have a different process and style than other people. If you are an actor, the way you go about acting may look different from the way others get into character. If you are an artist, the way you create is going to look different from the process of other artists. If you are a business person, the way you run your business and organize things may look differently from how other business people do it. If you are a manager, you may manage people differently. This is all okay!

My heart breaks for all of the people who spend their entire lives trying to twist and contort themselves into this mold they feel they need to fit. For some people, it’s a mold of what they believe success looks like. For some people, it’s a mold of what they think attractive looks like. For many Christians, it’s a mold of what they think a Christian should look like-“practically perfect in every way” as Mary Poppins would say. But no one is looking for you to fit into this mold, and no matter how hard you try to, you will never really fit! God is not looking for you to fit into this mold either. He created you uniquely to be yourself. There is a place in His heart that you fit into perfectly when you choose to let go of the preconceived ideas that you believe you need to fit. The more time you spend in that place of intimacy with Him, the easier it becomes to let go of that mold. I am finding that disregarding this mold is not necessarily a one-time-get-over-it-quick sort of thing; but rather something we face every day. Whether it is a mold we fight when we get dressed in the morning, a mold we fight when we embark on a new journey or a mold we fight when simply living life, it is something we all face at some point.

For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them. (Ephesians 2:10)

The word, “workmanship” literally means “masterpiece”. God, who created the moon, the sun, the sky (which I happen to be obsessed with), the oceans, the mountains, every living creature and thing, says that you and I are His masterpiece! The pinnacle of His creation is not that breathtakingly beautiful sunset that sets over the ocean, with hints of purple and pink peaking through those perfectly formed clouds, and mixed into the radiant rays of yellow and orange that gracefully glance above the water…the pinnacle of His creation is us! We were created in His image (Genesis 1:27), so how could we be anything but great?

Choosing to be ourselves is not always easy. Our old and ugly friends, insecurity and fear, would love to have us believe that the freedom to truly be oneself is nothing but a passing fantasy. But the more time we spend in God’s Word and listening to His voice about who we are, the easier it becomes to live and walk in freedom! On that note, I apologize for being remiss in my diligence to blog weekly. The break from blogging that began with busyness in preparation for Ammunition Conference and moving to Los Angeles, turned into a season of struggling again with feelings of loneliness and insecurity. That season faded away as I began rediscovering who God created me to be, and really knowing His love for myself and others on a whole new level. I began writing this specific post months ago, unable to share it out of fear that I could have nothing to offer anyone through this blog. With renewed conviction I can say that although on my own I have nothing to offer to anyone, God, Who lives inside of me, Who formed me and called me by name before I was born (Jeremiah 1:5), has a purpose, plan and message He has imprinted on my heart and life. One that He uniquely created me to carry. By the grace of God and out of the abundance of His love, I am so enjoying living life as the person He called me to be!

I would love to challenge each of you to take an honest look at your life and heart. Are you living life as the person you were created to be? Or are you living life attempting to fit inside a mold that was never yours to begin with? Wherever you are in this journey called life, know that you are not alone and you are so loved! If you need someone to believe in you, to pray with you or to simply talk to, I would love to connect with you! Comment below, or visit the connect page and send me a private message.

I adore this quote, and am hopeful it encourages some of you as it has encouraged me:

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that frightens us most. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and famous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that people won’t feel insecure around you. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in all of us. And when we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”
-Maryanne Williamson

20130728-233838.jpg

Be free to be you!

Lots of Love,

Michelle

Comments
5 Responses to “Be YOU”
  1. Mike says:

    Thank you… I needed this to remind me of something I had forgotten, A promise that was made.

  2. Anemone says:

    I love your blog, but more importantly, I love you! You always write about what’s been on my mind. Keep writing, you are a blessing through your writing!

    • Anemone says:

      I love your blog, but more importantly, I love you! You always write about what’s been on my mind. Not only that, you always add some wise insight or perspective that I might not have otherwise seen! Keep writing, you are a blessing through your writing!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I am far from perfect. I can’t always perfectly balance on the tightrope of expectations and life that I often hold myself to, and I know I’m not alone. I also refuse to coyly hide, twisting and contorting myself into an insincere work of art. I am going to be myself. […]



Leave a Reply

